Tankette’s Rambles

May 21, 2008

Gruuls, Mags, ZA

Filed under: Uncategorized — tankette @ 3:18 pm

Last night we did our normal Tuesday Gruuls and Mags farm. Our guild’s MT skipped these again for the second week so I shared MT duties with a well geared druid tank.

After tanking along side other warriors with similar gear, sharing duties with a druid gave me some difficulty that I haven’t had before. I had MT duties on Gruul but I had a really hard time getting my threat going at the beginning of the fight. Part of the problem was I thought I could charge Gruul (I could sware that is what I did last week) but I entered combat before I could charge. So I had to walk Gruul back to center position, which takes a little time. I had such a hard time seeing that it took a few seconds to get him positioned. I was spamming devastate since I needed the same fingers to move Gruul around as I need for SS and Revenge. Meanwhile the druid was throwing out so much threat he was taking aggro and making me rage starved.

So we got off to a slow start on DPS. Also, we had a lot of new people in the raid who couldn’t find safe spots from the shatter quickly. At growth #13, Gruul was still at 15%. We wiped.

Second attempt was pretty much a repeat wipe. Some people got frustrated since we’d wiped twice on a farm boss. A couple people dropped and better geared dps came in. As humbling as it was, I told the druid to back off at the beginning of the fight so I could get well ahead on threat. The third time was the charm. I built threat much faster (2 hunters using MD helped), got Gruul in position more quickly and DPS did their thing. He dropped in the 10th growth.

Since the raid was running late from the 2 wipes, I declined the opportunity to MT Mag. I haven’t done it before and the druid had so I had him take the duty. Mag was one shotted quite easily with no party deaths.

On to ZA! We had our best run in ZA to date and it was a blast. We went to the Eagle boss first. We made it through the gauntlet without difficulty (I think we lost a healer at the end) and spanked the boss like he was nothing. And we finally beat the timer!

Not fully understanding how the timers work, we took just a little too long getting over to the Bear boss. Everything went like clock work clearing the trash and we spanked down the boss. But, dangit, the timer expired when he was at 10%. Still, it was by far the best run we’ve had in ZA.

The druid tank from the Gruuls/Mags run was also in the ZA run. We work really well togther, I think, but once again on the Bear boss we had a shaky start. I started the fight, spamming devastates while getting the boss positioned, and the druid pulled aggro. It was only for a second or two and it didn’t cause a big problem but it is still bothersome. For the first time I’m having “threat issues”.

I think getting some buttons reconfigured so I can hit SS while moving the boss in position will help. Once I’m not moving I have a good sequence of SS/Revenge/Devestate/Devestate that pulls me way ahead on threat. It is just at the beginning of the fight that I am a little slow building threat. Maybe the druid just needs to back off a little since I’ve never had DPS’ers complain but I am going to treat this as an opportunity to up my game.

28 more badges untill I get my Sunguard legs. Hopefully by the end of this week or weekend.

3 Comments »

  1. Personally I really rate SS as an opener. SS, move the boss to where you want him, carry on spamming devastate as you do.

    Also if you have a hunter in your party, Just stand where you’ll be tanking and get a Hunter to Misdirect pull onto you 🙂

    Comment by Namthe — May 22, 2008 @ 7:01 am | Reply

  2. Yes, I’m realizing I need to get SS as an opener even if that means a slight delay in getting the boss positioned. I am also considering putting a talent or two back in Improved Bloodrage to help with the open.

    Comment by tankette — May 22, 2008 @ 3:46 pm | Reply

  3. Usually what I do on boss fights is SS, then thunderclap/demo/commanding shout as I’m moving him into position. As long as the SS lands and you don’t have idiots for DPS you shouldn’t have any problems holding threat while positioning.

    I don’t think I’ll ever NOT have 2 points in improved bloodrage. Being able to SS immediately after bloodraging is awesome.

    Comment by speidel — May 22, 2008 @ 4:59 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

