Tankette’s Rambles

June 9, 2008

Weekend raids, Another Heroic, Got my Girdle

Filed under: Uncategorized — tankette @ 3:57 pm

Starting with the best first, I got the Girdle of the Fearless after last night’s raids. I will hopefully see a slight increase in my threat generation from the plus hit and expertise. Using my stam trinkets, I’m now just over 16K health unbuffed. I put in a 4 dodge 6 stam gem in its red socket. That gave me the +3 stam socket bonus but I am tempted to put a 15 stam blue gem in there instead.

Friday night I waited around for raids that never happened. No Kara, No ZA. Bummer. Saturday we did the speed run in Kara. I didn’t have the same druid tank I’d been sharing tanking duties from the last few runs (he was in the raid on an alt) so it went a little slower. We wiped on Netherspite and I’m not even sure why. 5 people died in the first few seconds of the fight. The remaining 5 got him down to 30%. People were tired so we didn’t give him a second try. So we downed everything but Ilhoof, Netherspite and Nightbane, which seems to be our typical run, in just over 3 hours. Besides the badges, I also picked up the Shermanar (I forget the spelling) ring, which I think is slightly better than the old badge ring I got a long time ago for 25 badges.

I also ran Heroic Underbog again this weekend. This was the second time through in the last week so I had a much better time with the pulls this time. I don’t think I had a pull with 2 sets of mobs the whole run. We had a mage and a warlock so the CC was good. There were no wipes and it was a fairly fast and clean run. It was a nice confidence booster. I now have 4 successful heroics under my belt.

Sunday night it was Mags and Gruuls. I don’t know if we had less of our strongest raiders or what but we had way more wipes than usual. We even wiped once on High King and I don’t recall us ever wiping on him. It took 3 tries to get Gruul down. On first try we only had 23 people in the raid so I am assuming that’s why he still wasn’t down on th 17th growth. I think we got him to 4% on that attempt. Mags went a little better. We wiped once and again I’m not sure why. Getting Mags onto me (I was MT again) didn’t go smoothly and I think he killed a couple people before I got him into position. Then there was confusion on who was to be clicking on one of the boxes. The second try was textbook with no deaths. Oh well, the wipes don’t bother me (although the guild officers seem to be losing their patience with them) and I got 8 more badges – enough to get the Girdle.

My next badge target is the Bracers of the Ancient Phalanx. It should be a good upgrade over my Bracers of the Green Fortress. I just need 32 more badges, lol. I should have them by the end of the coming weekend.

I’m looking forward to a good week of raids. We should get first kills on Hydross and the Lynx boss.

3 Comments »

  1. At your gear level, you may find it easier to do heroics without CC. In places like Underbog, just tank everything. I certainly find that when I’ve got the gear to be able to do this for an instance, the stress of having to do it “correctly” goes away.

    Comment by Machus — June 10, 2008 @ 10:34 am | Reply

  2. That is an intriguing thought. I’m going to have to try it. More mobs beating on me equals more rage equals more threat. I specced for Improved TC the other day which helps those AOE threat situations.

    Comment by tankette — June 10, 2008 @ 7:17 pm | Reply

  3. Improved Thunderclap really is one of those talents I wouldn’t be without. Not necessarily for threat reasons, but because the extra 10% attack speed reduction means a lot less crushing blows.

    Comment by Namthe — June 11, 2008 @ 6:43 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

