Tankette’s Rambles

November 20, 2008

1 more to go

Filed under: Uncategorized — tankette @ 4:16 pm

Last night I tore through about 10 more quests in Grizzly Hills and then went to the Storm Peaks. I have heard that doing the quests in Storm Peaks is important to start building reputation with a certain faction. I have yet to discover what faction that is but supposedly it will be the one to give me good tanking enchants for my shoulders.

The starter area in Storm Peaks, K3, was a lot of fun. Land mines. Blowing up a Mammoth. It is really great how Blizz has been so creative on the new quests. I ended up doing all the quests I could with the Goblins at K3 before I got onto a long quest chain in a nearby area. The final quest there had me rescuing protodrakes. Such fun!

At the end of that quest chain I went down to Zul’Drak with 4 guildies for the Ampitheatre quests. This is very similar to the Ring of Blood matches in Nagrand. The fights were fun and 5 quests were completed in about 15 minutes. 160K exp and over 100g in rewards.

From the Ampitheatre I went to try some quests in Icecrown. You would think that the quests there would be uber-hard given how scary everything looks. No, the starting quests were a breeze. I just did 5 or 6 of them to . . .

DING, level 79. One more to go! In my guild’s race to 80, I have a solid lead as the next highest two are both just recently turned 77. I plan on doing more of the quests in Storm Peaks and to run a couple more instances tonight and get at least halfway to 80. The next night I’ll be done leveling.

Gearwise, I am still mainly wearing the same gear I was at 70. I have a new helm, a blue, a new belt, a green, and a variety of rings I swap around a lot. I did get a higher dps one hand weapon for finishing the Ampitheatre quests but it doesn’t have tanking stats. Surprisingly to me, I still don’t have any problems at all killing stuff.

Tuesday night I spent an hour farming sardontie and titanium ore. The AH prices were nuts. That hour of farming resulted in 3K of gold!!! I tried the same run last night but this time there were tons of people farming. So not only was I unable to scoop up endless amounts of ore, the AH prices were about 1/3 of the previous night.

I’m having so much fun with the expansion. My only frustration so far is with a lack of info I can find on factions. I know I am going to have to grind reputation but I haven’t figured out the best place to get started.

3 Comments »

  1. The faction that you need is Son of Thorin or something close. Keep following quest and you’ll end up doing it.

    It will take you to a nice long chain quest. You know those drakes that you rescued and grabbed a bunch of people in the area? Yeah that area.

    Once you hit friendly you will get a daily quest as you progress you get another one. Shoulder enchants will be available at honored and revered if Im not mistaken. Plus a mammoth mount at exalted.

    For tanking, I’m not sure what your gear is but Wyrmest accord has tons of blue tanking items from honored to revered. I got the cloak at honored.

    I will try to write up a faction guide for tank and dps warrior. I was writing them down yesterday as I was flying thru the whole zone.

    Comment by Herc — November 20, 2008 @ 7:09 pm | Reply

  2. I just finished writing a tank faction guide for the neutral factions. Enjoy. 🙂

    http://www.tanklikeagirl.com/2008/11/20/neutral-faction-rewards-for-prot-warriors

    Comment by kadomi — November 20, 2008 @ 9:46 pm | Reply

  3. I worked on that quest line and faction rep for a long time last night. I managed to get to friendly status and do my first daily.

    Thanks for the link and write up, Kadomi.

    Comment by tankette — November 21, 2008 @ 3:08 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

