Tankette’s Rambles

June 20, 2008

Leo 4, GBU 0 – Inner Demons 8, Tankette 1

Filed under: Uncategorized — tankette @ 1:36 pm

Dangit, dangit, dangit. We had 5 attempts on Leo last night and couldn’t get him down. We did much better with handling the whirlwind. We were consistently getting him down to 30% and twice we got the split phase at 15%. I think our big problem was healing but I’m not sure. That’s what I heard from someone else. But I know for me (and a few others in the raid) the problem was the inner demons. I think I have good strategy I just need better execution.

When Leo switches to demon form I immediately switch to battle stance. I choose battle stance because I’ll do more damage than defensive stance and I can still use spell reflect. I hit him in demon form just for white damage to build rage. When I see the warning for insidious whisper I back off and untarget Leo. This is so I can target my inner demon as quick as possible. When my inner demon pops up the most important thing is to use spell reflect. If I reflect his shadow bolt it hits him for 3K damage. That by far the biggest damage I can do to him. When not spell reflecting, I’m using shield slam and heroic strike. Somewhere in the battle I hit blood rage to keep the damage going. When the rage runs out after that I use a rage potion. When he’s down to 19% I hit execute.

The first time I got the inner demon I used the strategy above and I killed him just at the last second. YAY! I’m thinking I’ve got it wired now. The MT didn’t get his down on that attempt so the fact I got mine down meant we could continue fighting on. I almost dislocated my shoulder patting myself on the back.

The second time I got the inner demon there was at least one missed spell reflect due to poor timing. The strategy was working though. I was getting him down. Time was running out. He hit 19%. EXECUTE!!!!! NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!! HE WAS STILL AT 1%!!!!! EPIC FAIL!!!!!!!!!!!

The third time, well, it was just a major choke. I wasted time having Leo targeted when I thought the inner demon was targeted. Every spell reflect was mistimed. I didn’t even get him to 50%.

So of all the Leo attempts over 4 nights I’ve succeeded only once out of about 8 times to kill my inner demon. I think my strategy is ok but my exection is the problem. If anyone has some better ideas I’m all ears.

One note about my blog: I’ll probably post less often since the network police at work have blocked wordpress.

I’ve been focused on getting my epic flying mount. I’m up to 4K gold now so I’ll be getting that sucker this weekend! Then it will be back to spending all my money on gear for Gius, getting him fro 69 to 70 and getting his regular flyer. I’m hoping to get him ready for the next Wednesday Kara run, but that wont be easy.

5 Comments »

  1. I don’t know if you are doing this but you should stack a crapload of SBV on you for this fight. It’s great for burst threat and it will help you a lot on your inner demon. I do what you do, just use spell reflect, shield slam and the occasional devastate and he goes down just fine, but I’m in my max SBV gear.

    Comment by Jibou — June 20, 2008 @ 1:46 pm | Reply

  2. have you tried switching to duel wielding swords it just takes a second, or you can macro it. then when you are done macro or click switch to sword and board.

    Comment by littletank — June 20, 2008 @ 4:20 pm | Reply

  3. You are on the right track, like Jibou said, put on a crap load of SBV for bigger shield slams and the snap threat will help picking up the boss after a WW. Plenty of people have success switching to dual wielding but I always felt a lot more comfortable with sword and board because you don’t have to worry about switching weapons to get a spell reflect off. Tanking the fight is all about threat and it just so happens that your threat gear is going to be your best DPS gear as well. I don’t remember what level the inner demons are but I don’t think its 73 so the hit cap and expertise cap is significantly lower.

    Make sure you have a full rage bar before the insidious wisper, just white attacks on the boss and an occasional devastate to keep the boss sundered. I made a post on my blog kinda recently on my UI and one of the features that should help you a lot is the super gigantic enemy cast bar. Use Quartz and make the cast bar super huge and stick it in the dead center of your screen so that when your demon is casting shadow bolt its not possible for you to miss it. Since you were white attacking the boss before the whisper you should have a full rage bar and the demons hit relatively hard so you should have plenty of rage. Don’t use shield block since they don’t crush and because you need all your rage going to damage. It is definately worthwhile for you to get the demon sundered. If you can tell it is going to be close, or if you mess up targetting or don’t notice that you have a demon right away, switch to berserker stance and pop recklessness. Recklessness saved my ass a couple times if I screwed something up.

    Comment by Rochelle — June 20, 2008 @ 9:35 pm | Reply

  4. Wondering why you’re mis-timing spell reflects.. Are you using a cast bar for your targets? Ive never actually gotten the chance to try killing demons on my warrior, so I can’t really offer any help in that regard. I’m sure you’ll figure it out 😀

    Comment by speidel — June 20, 2008 @ 10:34 pm | Reply

  5. I’m mis-timing the spell reflect primarily due to panic, I think. Rochelle’s advice about a huge enemy cast bar I think will help me tremendously though. Trying to watch my rage, cool down on the shield slam, cool down on the spell reflect and still finding the enemy cast bar had been a problem.

    I’ll be wearing more dps gear than last time too. I had a few pieces on but I can wear more. Leo didn’t seem to hit me very hard anyway.

    As always, thanks for all the advice and comments!

    Comment by tankette — June 23, 2008 @ 4:04 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.